Home | Documents    Monday 21 July 2008

Darfur JEM proposal for an interim government after ICC charges against Sudan President

The Sudan Justice and Equality Movement (JEM)



- There can be no doubt that the ICC indictment of Albashir has created a new reality and political dynamics that have to be taken into account. The indictment erodes Albashir’s legitimacy as a President and destroys authority of his ruling party (NCP) which has colluded in his denial of genocides, war crimes and murder alleged in the indictment.
- The erosion of legitimacy of the current Sudanese government obligates all political parties and forces to intervene in a responsible way and prevent the country from sliding into chaos, anarchy and constitutional vacuum
- It is a duty of all to act courageously in order to preserve national, regional and international agreements that are crucial for maintaining peace and stability in the country.
- The current state of uncertainty and lack of legitimacy provide an environment conducive for escalation of ongoing corruption, lack of security, lawlessness and dictatorship
- In order to overcome these challenges and save the country from an eminent collapse and disintegration, JEM proposes an immediate formation of a transitional government of national unity (TGONU) with the following objectives:


1. Institution of rule of law and preservation of citizens rights

2. Preservation of unity of Sudan and its people

3. Putting an end to war, compensation of war victims and initiation of reconstruction of war affected areas

4. Institution of freedom and embarking on transition to democracy

5. Restoration of good international and neighbourly relations based on mutual interests

6. Implementation of fair division of power and wealth

7. Commitment to international conventions and cooperation with international organisations


1. To achieve national unity, protect national interests and institute peace and stability

2. To achieve just peace for Darfur and all other parts of Sudan

3. To repatriate IDPs and Refugees to their villages and compensate the victims

4. To conduct reliable and transparent national census

5. To conduct free, fair and observed general elections at the end of the Transitional Government

6. To implement of the CPA and guarantee its treatment as an agreement between the SPLM and the national government and not between the SPLM and the ruling party

7. To convene a conference of regions of Sudan to address issues of national identity, unions of regions of Sudan, system of governance and a new constitution


1. Affirmation of participation of all regions of Sudan, all political parties, trade unions and civic societies in the TGONU

2. Affirmation of full commitment to the CPA

3. Affirmation of freedom of speech, press and congregation and guarantee of opportunity for all to freely express and articulate their views and cultures

4. Affirmation of commitment to duration of the TGONU

5. Affirmation of effective participation of women in the political process and decision-making

6. Affirmation that the army, police, Security, judicial and civil service organs shall be neutral and nationally based.


- The Transitional Government (TGONU) shall rule for two years after which authority shall be handed over to a freely elected government


The TGONU shall be constituted of the following:

a. Presidency of the Republic

1. President of the Republic

2. Seven Vice Presidents with each presiding over his/her respective region

3. Advisors to the President

b. Council of Ministers

There shall be a Federal Executive body consisting of some Ministers and State Ministers, representing the whole of Sudan and all its regions and civic societies. In this Executive body, the south shall maintain all gains stipulated in the CPA.

C. Legislative body:

A Legislative organ shall be composed by agreement of all political forces and shall be representative of all political parties and Sudan regions. The south shall retain representation fully in tandem with the CPA.

Khartoum Region- the National Capital:

Khartoum shall be elevated to a region divided into three states: Khartoum, Khartoum North and Omdurman. Khartoum region shall be governed in a way that reflects diversity and unity of Sudan.

Levels of Governance in the Sudan:

Four levels of governance shall prevail during the Transitional Period of TGONU:

1. Local level

2. State level

3. Regional level

4. Federal level

Each Region shall have its inclusive government with executive and legislative bodies in line of what currently prevails in the south.

Formation of the Seven Regions of Sudan:

Sudan shall be divided into seven regions: Northern Region, Central Region, Eastern Region, Southern Region, Khartoum Region, Kordofan Region and Darfur Region.

All current states in the country are to be retained in addition three new states in Khartoum Region.

Copy to:

- Security Council, United Nations
- African Union
- European Union
- Arab League
- Organisation of Islamic Congress
- Presidents of Neighbouring Countries
- Heads of Sudanese Political Parties
- Sudanese Civic Societies

Ahmed Tougd Lisan

Bureau for Political Affairs

July 15th 2008