Home | News    Friday 25 December 2015

South Sudan’s Kiir appoints governors of 28 new states

December 24, 2015 (JUBA) - South Sudan’s president Salva Kiir issued a Republican Order Thursday appointing governors for the 28 states created to replace the initial 10.

JPEG - 31.2 kb
South Sudanese president Salva Kiir (Photo: Reuters)

The decree, read on the state-owned SSTV saw 21 new and seven old faces.

The new appointments, the president said, takes immediate effect from 24 December.

Those newly appointed governors are Natisio Loluke Manir (Imatong), Louise Lobong Lojore (Namurnyang), Africano Monday (Maridi), Joseph Pachiko (Amadi), Patrick Raphael Zamoi (Gbudwe), Augustino Jadalla Wani (Jubek), Juma Ali Malou (Terekeka), David Lokonga Moses (Yei River county), Elias Waya Nyipouch (Wau), Ronald Ruai Deng (Aweil), Rizik Zachariah Hassan (Lol), Deng Deng Akuei (Aweil East) and Bona Pariek Biar for Twic states.

Others include, Abraham Gum Makuach (Gogrial), Akech Tong Aleu (Tonj), Ring Tueny Mabol (Eastern Lakes), Abraham Makoi Bol (Western Lakes), Madang Majok Meen (Gok), Joseph Monytuil (Northern Lich), Teker Riek Dong (Southern Lich), Mayol Kur (Kweng), Philip Aguer Panyang (Jonglei), William Othon Awer (Western Nile), Chol Thon Balok (Eastern Nile), James Kok Ruai (Western Bieh), Peter Bol Kong Nguoth (Eastern Bieh), Peter Lam Buoth (Latjor) and Baba Medan Konyi for the newly established Boma state.

In October, the South Sudan leader established 28 states through an order, cited as “The Establishment Order No. 36/2015 AD for the creation of the new South Sudan states”.

“The fundamental objectives of the order states that; it will devolve power and resource closer to the people, gradually reduce size of national government, attracts experts to work at the state and counties level and promote social and economic development amongst the rural communities”, the 3 October 2015 order read in part.

The armed opposition faction (SPLM-IO) led by former vice president, Riek Machar earlier rejected the creation of 28 states by President Kiir, describing the move as a violation of the August peace agreement, which came into effect based on the 10 states.

The South Sudanese parliament, however, empowered President Kiir in November to create more states and appoint governors as well as some state lawmakers.

There were mixed reactions to the appointment of the new state governors. Proponents argue that the president respected the will of the people, but the opposition described it as a setback to the peace accord to end nearly two years of the nation’s violent conflict.