Home | News    Monday 11 January 2010

SPLM names Jonglei nominees for April elections

By Philip Thon Aleu

January 10, 2010 (BOR) – South Sudan ruling party names 91 party flag
bearers for parliamentary seats from Jonglei state for national, south
Sudan and state assemblies. All the 5 applicants for the post of
governorship are only “ranked” and the final selection is reserved
for the SPLM political bureau to decide this week in Juba.

JPEG - 73 kb
SPLM Electoral College officers organize files containing

The Jonglei State Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM) Electoral
College nominates for all the 15 seats for national federal) assembly,
28 for south Sudan and 48 for state assemblies. The list includes
aspirants for women and party list.

Jonglei Gov. Kuol Manyang Juuk is rank as the favorite to seek
election on SPLM ticket pending the party‘s top most decision making
body – the SPLM political bureau. The other contenders are Chuol
Rambang Luoth, George Athor Deng, Ismail Konyi and Duoth Nhial Pec in
that order. Among the five interested comrades, the SPLM will nominate
one to face other political party/parties’ aspirant(s) in April

Speaking to reporters in Bor town today, the chairperson of State SPLM
Electoral College, Gatkuoth Tiop Bol, says the four-day party’s
selection process was fair and transparent. Mr. Tiop calls upon
members selected against to remain partisan. He says

”All the applicants are committed and strong SPLM members but we have
only 91 seats from Jonglei state.”

The team supervisor Norah Zangabeyo earlier says that “they are
candidates who made it successfully through the SPLM selection
criteria for 2010 elections and we [SPLM] calls on people of Jonglei
state to rally behind them.”

The nomination exercise was limited to 25-member State SPLM Electoral
College and closed to the media.

The list, obtained by the Sudan Tribune, indicates that incumbent
parliamentarians beat new aspirants in many constituencies as well as
do new faces in some constituencies.

The following are the nominated SPLM flag bearers from constituencies
provided beside each name.

National Assembly Geographical (Khartoum)

Michael Chot Lul (Uror), Jacob Duany Waw (Ayod), Nyang Chol Dhuor
(Nyirol), Lawyrien Ibon Korlem (Pibor, Pochala), Maker Thiong Maal
(Bor), Atem Garang Deng (Twic East, Duk), John Badeng Chan (Fangak),
James Gatluak Ruon (Akobo), Kuol Lual Awuol (Pigi South).

National Assembly Party List (Khartoum)

Lual Achuek Lual (Twic East), David Dhil Chol (Ayod).

National Assembly Women List (Khartoum)

Emelda Modi Tombe (Akobo), Munira John Abdelwahab (Pochala), Elizabeth
John Kuol Akech (Pigi) and Anna Abyei Wuor (Duk).

Southern Sudan Legislative Assembly (SSLA) Geographical Constituency (Juba)

William Borien Gola (Pibor West), David Aru Irer (Pibor South), Gier
Chuang Aluong (Pigi North), Philip Thon Leek (Duk), Deng-tiel Ayuen
Kur (Athoc), Michael Makuei Lueth (Bor Central), Benjamin Malek Alier
(Bor Gok), James Kok Ruei (Fangak), David Okwer Akuai (Pochala), John
Jok Chol (Akobo North), John Luk Jok (Akobo South), Kutin Bayak Gil
(Nyirol), Simon Hoth Dol (Uror North), Barnaba Marial Benjamin (Uror
South), Deng Dau Deng (Twic East), Timothy Tut Chuol (Ayod North),
Paul Gatnor Ruot Bidoi (Ayod South)

SSLA Party List (Juba)

Kuony War Jok (Uror), David Gai Chan Dak (Fangak), Charles Awelo
Onyuongo (Pochala) and Maker Deng Malou (Duk).

SSLA Women List (Juba)

June Malek Kuol (Bor), Martha Akuany Deng (Twic East), Angelina
Nyamoka Maguon (Fangak), Adeng Leek Deng (Ayod), Elizabeth Nyaluach
Tap (Nyirol), Banguot Amum Okiech (Pibor) and Thijin Doyak Chol

Jonglei State Assembly Geographical Constituency (Bor)

Maker Chol Adol (Gok North), Philip Thon Nyok (Bor Town), Ezra Mayom
Ngong (Gok South), Kuol Bol Ayom (Athoc North), Alier Michael Malet
((Athoc South), Abraham Deng Deng (Pigi North), John Agany Tang (Pigi
South), Peter Kuon Yak (Fangak South), Tuong MAjok Deng (Fangak
North), Simon Dak Puoch (Ayod North), Nelson Kuany Diu (Ayod South),
James Diu Chak (Ayod Central), Kengen Jakor Bayoi (Pibor West), Jodi
Jonglei Boyoris (Pibor South), Baba Medan Konyi (Pibor North), Betros
Ochala Ojulu (Pochala North), Magret Akule Nyigow (Pochala South),
Deng Chol Bei (Akobo North), Stephen Ogut Obong (Akobo South), David
Bidit Deng (Akobo Central), Nyang Lul Gai (Nyirol West), Khorhok Gal
Gar (Nyirol East), Moses Gatkuoth Lony (Uror North), Samuel Manyuon
Giet (Uror West), Hussein Mar Nyuot (Uror South), Dhieu Ngong Gak
(Twic East South), Mochnom Wuor Kuany (Duk) and Peter Deng Aguer (Twic
East North).

Jonglei State Assembly Party List (Bor)

Peter Wal Athiu (Bor), Lith Aluong (Bor) and James Mayul Thor
(Nyirol), Gabriel Gai Riam (Akobo), Peter Chol Wal Wieu (Pigi), Thomas
Manyol Riek (Ayod) and Racho Jakin Korok (Pibor).

Jonglei State Women List (Bor)

Apotho Ojulu Okoth (Akobo), Rachael Nyadak Paul (Uror), Rachael Athiek
Ruei (Duk), Rebecca Arop Chuang (Pigi), Ajok Gordon Kuol (Bor), Doliep
Paul Giel (Nyirol), Sarah James Kun Malual (Fangak), Nyamakal Wau Dieu
(Ayod), Elizabeth Deu Aguin (Twic East), Margret Gola Oleyo (Pibor),
Sebilla Joseph Duri (Pibor) and Akello Cham Ajou (Pochala).

228 applications were collected from SPLM members for various
positions. The competition within the SPLM was steep and this
nomination, to many Bor town residents, has ended campaigns leading to
April polls quite early. The opposition parties are silent that SPLM
assumes winning all parliamentary seats.

The first democratic post-war elections, in accordance to
Comprehensive Peace Agreement that end 21 years of war in Sudan, are
the first in the South. The former rebel, SPLM, that rules the
semi-autonomous south, is still popular and dominant that declared
nominees assume responsibilities immediately. However, SPLM candidates
will face opposition contenders in April 2010 before preparing the
south for referendum in January 2011.