Home | News    Thursday 19 August 2010

State level referendum committees members appointed accross south


By Manyang Mayom

August 18, 2010 (KHARTOUM) - Southern Sudan has announced the members of the ten state referendum committees ahead of the autonomous regions vote on independence in January.

The referendum giving the south the option to secede was agreed as part of a 2005 peace deal that ended 22 years of civil war between the north and south.

Preparations for the poll (voter registration has not started and the secretary general for the national referendum commission chairman is yet to be appointed) which could split the country and post referendum arrangements (citizenship, national, oil, border demarcation) are way behind schedule.

A statement from the Southern Sudan Referendum Bureau (SSRB) received by Sudan Tribune listed the 50 appointees to the Referendum High State Committees.

According to the bureau the appointments were carried out ‘as per Article 22 of the Southern Sudan Referendum Act 2009’.

A swearing-in ceremony for the committee members is due to take place in Juba.

Below is the list of referendum committees for each state in the order by which it was received:

Eastern Equatoria State

Chairman: Mr. Teko Allan Lochu

Members: Ms. Mary Juwa William, Ms. Anisia Karlo Achieng, Mr. Galdino Ochama George, Mr. William Okot de Toby

Western Equatoria State

Chairman: Prof. Sibrino Barnaba Forjalla

Members: Assistant Prof. William Hai Zaza, Mr. William Thomas, Ms. Judith Reuben, Mr. Paul Ezbon Bafaa

Lakes State

Chairman: Dr. Mabor Makuei

Members: Ms. Victoria Aluel Aru Bol, Ms. Lois Reuben Maciir, Ms. Cathiria Marial Makuac, Mr. Isaac Chol Dut

Western Bahr el Ghazal State

Chairman: Mr. Wol Madut Chan

Members: Mr. James Juma Dhab, Ms. Naima Abbas Ahmed, Mr. Philip Deng Ulak, Mama Rita Joseph

Warrap State

Chairperson: Ms. Gai William Deng Nhial

Members: Mr. Agoth Ngot Riiny, Mr. Lodoviko Lual Run, Mr. Bona Ting Angok, Mr. Wol Lual Bol

Northern Bahr El Ghazal State

Chairman: Mr. Irneo Wol Kuot

Members: Mr. Isaac Mabior Ngang, Ms Mary Arkangelo Baak, Mr. Robert Majok Kuol, Mr. Kuac Akechak Jok

Unity State

Chairman: Mr. Michael Mayll Chol

Membes: Mr. Simon Majok Majak, Mr. James Gatjoi Tut, Ms. Nura Luk Gatluak, Mrs. Rose Nyaluak Maker

Jonglei State

Chairman: Mr. Reuben Garang Yuol

Members: Mr. Garkuoth Tiop Bol, Mr. Ajiith Akuei Awan, Mr. John Boloc, Mr. Stephen Mach Malual

Upper Nile State

Chairmen: Mr. Bol Puot Yut

Members: Mr. Olwak Okach Adway, Ms. Abuk Kur Adorion Tut, Tewtwa Ajuot, Mr. James Daniel Chuang

Central Equatoria State

Chairman: Prof. Alfred Sebit Lokuji

Members: Mr. John Madong, Ms. Christine Jaguru Justin, Mr. Simon Lumori Philip, Sadia Lona


Comments on the Sudan Tribune website must abide by the following rules. Contravention of these rules will lead to the user losing their Sudan Tribune account with immediate effect.

- No inciting violence
- No inappropriate or offensive language
- No racism, tribalism or sectarianism
- No inappropriate or derogatory remarks
- No deviation from the topic of the article
- No advertising, spamming or links
- No incomprehensible comments

Due to the unprecedented amount of racist and offensive language on the site, Sudan Tribune tries to vet all comments on the site.

There is now also a limit of 400 words per comment. If you want to express yourself in more detail than this allows, please e-mail your comment as an article to comment@sudantribune.com

Kind regards,

The Sudan Tribune editorial team.
  • 19 August 2010 02:36, by Paul Ongee

    Good job,

    Congratulations on appointment of Referendum Committees members. South Sudan is ready to hit the road of separation from the North without reverse gear. Even Khartoum cannot stop it. It is already regretting.

    repondre message

  • 19 August 2010 10:00, by DASODIKO

    Good start men, now never wait for Jallabas to decide for you. These heartless humans with their hot statements were just testing Govvernemnt of South Sudan if they are freed or would still wait for their masters in Khartium to decide.

    Bravo; the second step to declare independent of South Sudan from Parliament.

    repondre message

  • 19 August 2010 10:03, by ayuairech

    congratulation for the appointment of the referundum committee but one important person is neglected from great equatoria , DR ANNA ITTO.

    repondre message

  • 19 August 2010 14:00, by Abraham Majur Lam

    Thanks to apointing authorities and congretulations to appointed C/persons and in particular Dr. mabor makuei, you are now the referee for lakes and we shall play our part as agents for change in lakes and in Southern sudan at large. What we want from you is transparency in giving unity what belong to Unity and separation what belong to separation and for sure separation will win by hundred percnt in lakes State believe me or not.

    repondre message

Comment on this article

The following ads are provided by Google. SudanTribune has no authority on it.

Sudan Tribune

Promote your Page too

Latest Comments & Analysis

Dissolution and formation of the Cabinet - 2013 2018-04-20 08:00:00 Amb Telar Deng The events that led to the 2013 dissolution of cabinet can be traced back to the deep mistrust that fermented back in 1991 when leaders failed to close ranks. After the 1991 (...)

The Darfur issue remains in oblivion 2018-04-20 07:36:49 By Mahmoud A. Suleiman The victims and survivors of the atrocious crimes in the Darfur region where very few in the world cares for their plight continue feeling trapped, no way out but at the (...)

IGAD and the question of impartiality 2018-04-20 07:18:21 By Duop Chak Wuol One of the main reasons the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) was formed was to maintain peace in the East African region. In its mission statement, the bloc (...)


Latest Press Releases

Abyei celebrates Mine Awareness Day 2018-04-05 08:52:03 4 April 2018 | Abyei - The United Nations Interim Security Force for Abyei (UNISFA) and the United Nations Mine Action Service (UNMAS) commemorated the International Day for Mine Awareness and (...)

Appeal for forgiveness and pardon of John Agou Wuoi 2018-03-07 08:28:08 H.E. Salva Kiir Mayardit, President and Commander-in-Chief, of the Sudan People's Liberation Army (SPLA), Republic of South Sudan (RSS), 5th February, 2018. Through: Hon. Michael Makuei Lueth (...)

Petition for release of Agou John Wuoi from prison 2018-02-15 20:45:31 Open letter to South Sudan President Salva Kiir Your Excellency, Kindly please permit me to take this rare opportunity to appreciate you for every effort you have made toward making South Sudan (...)


Copyright © 2003-2018 SudanTribune - All rights reserved.